coin dispenser with bill acceptor

hey guys. i am trying to make a coin dispenser with a bill acceptor so that when i put in $5 it dispenses one coin and with $20 it dispenses 5 coins. i am totally new to arduino. i would really appreciate it if someone can help me with this. thanks. :slight_smile:

You first.

I have no clue what a bill acceptor is except that you feed it money. (Sounds like my teenage daughter). Post the data sheet and any technical details that come with the acceptor. A schematic would be nice.

SteveMann:
I have no clue what a bill acceptor is except that you feed it money.

And that would be the case.

So I agree. ack_8924 needs to cite the datasheet that came with the "bill acceptor". I'd hazard it was not cheap either!

Incidentally,

ack_8924:
when i put in $5 it dispenses one coin and with $20 it dispenses 5 coins.

One coin for $5 - what sort of deal is that?

SteveMann:
Post the data sheet and any technical details that come with the acceptor. A schematic would be nice.

The question gives me the feeling the OP is thinking of building the bill acceptor as well…

Paul__B:
Incidentally,One coin for $5 - what sort of deal is that?

One for $5; 5 for $20 - sounds like coins to buy beer or for use in games. Not money kind of coins. Maybe better called “chips”, as in poker.

Not an easy build by any means. The hardest part is to make it secure and robust. Not just against people trying to get the money out (who may try to break it open quickly on the spot, or just take the whole machine to later do this leisurely), also against upset customers who put in their money but were short changed. I know I for one am not exactly nice to a machine that takes my money without giving back what I’m entitled to.