College Wind Turbine Project

Hey everyone,

I am an Electrical Engineering major freshman currently in college working on a small-model wind turbine along with two other people. This project is basically our only project for the entire semester, the reason being that we're thrown into this project regardless of our current knowledge in engineering. The only thing that me and my group knows so far is the basics on how a turbine works (even then, it's quite a little).

I am in charge of the programming of the wind turbine specifically. We are given an Arduino Uno to do this, and I myself have ordered an Arduino kit so I could learn more about it at home. However, I'm still confused on how to start this whole project up...

1. How does a wind turbine charge a battery?
    I know that in a typical wind turbine, wind moves the turbine blades which spins an internal generator to convert kinetic motion into electricity, but aside from that, I do not know what process stores it into a battery. What are notable parts in the process and does it apply to a small-sized model of a turbine as well?

2. Isn't charging batteries dangerous?
    I've read from multiple sites that charging batteries were dangerous and there was a specific type that wasn't as dangerous. If I remember correctly, our projects goal is to be able to recharge a battery. I'm guessing it's a AAA, or maybe a AA. I've also read, however, that with a such a small-scaled power generator, accidentally over-charging batteries won't happen and it wouldn't be dangerous because of that.

3. What is a dump load? Should I add one to my wind turbine?
    The only thing I've read about it is that it regulates the current being put into the generator by being a dummy for which electricity passes through it. Aside from that, I don't know much.