COM disconnects then reconnects. Rinse and repeat

About me and the hardware/software I use:
I am brand new to Arduino. I am taking a college course to get me oriented. I use a custom-built PC that runs on Windows 10. I am using the 1.8.14 version of the code editor to work with an Elegoo Mega 2560. I connect my microcontroller to my PC via a USB port on my desktop tower whenever I am uploading or running code.

About the situation:
When I try to run the code given below it successfully uploads and runs, but I cannot use the Serial Monitor. If I click to open the serial monitor within the first few moments of uploading the code it brings the window up, but I cannot interact with it and I get the error message, “Error while setting serial port parameters: 9,600 N 8 1”. If I wait a few seconds after the code is uploaded/running and then try to open the serial monitor it won’t pull the window up and gives me the error message, “Error opening serial port COM7 (port not found)”.

The other thing is that while the code is running my operating system goes back and forth between recognizing my Arduino Mega and not recognizing it. I will hear the little chime sound that signifies something has been plugged in/out over and over again even though the USB connection is physically secure. When I open my device manager I can watch the Arduino bounce back and forth between being recognized as being part of COM7 and being an unrecognized device.

All of this only happens with this specific sketch and wiring. Every other sketch that I have written and run hasn’t had this problem. I can even go back and upload a previous code that I’ve written that uses the serial monitor and it works just fine!