Combination of Arduino and Raspberry Pi

Hi,
I am new to both Arduino and Raspberry Pi.

I plan to build a monitoring system of a small machine using Raspberry Pi - as it good for software development. In the same time, I want to upgrade my machine into touchscreen interface instead of button and normal display. For the touchscreen, I plan to use Arduino with TFT touchscreen from Adafruit - as the arduino board will be connected to any other sensors, and the TFT touchscreen is user friendly (can be touched using fingertips instead of touchscreen pencil)

So the connection gonna be >>

My software - Raspberry Pi board - Arduino board - Adafruit TFT touchscreen

Are these combination ok? Or do you have any better suggestion? Is there any similar projects that I can refer to?

p/s: Some of my concerns from using Pi's touchscreen are :-

• It can't be touched using fingertips
  • Very large in size - my machine is just small
  • Have its interface already while I have my own interface need to be drawn for display

You description leaves a lot of unknowns.

Do you want the touchscreen on the Arduino to control the RPi in place of your existing RPi touchscreen? If so I suspect it will not work as well as a proper capacitative (sp?) touch screen for your RPi.

But maybe you just want to make an Arduino project that is essentially stand-alone with occasional communication with an RPi. If so you have not told us all of the tasks the Arduino will be performing.

...R

miyekard:
Hi,
I am new to both Arduino and Raspberry Pi.

Then start at the beginning. Learn the Arduino microcontroller by working your way through the Examples given in the IDE. Raspberry Pi has it's own learning style, so visit forums, read magazines and books, study computer science in school, or speak with people you know who program that computer. Then use google to search for something like 'using Arduino with Raspberry Pi'.

Take it slow, and learn each part thoroughly.
Good luck!
Chris

Robin2: