Commercial use of Arduino

Hi,

I'm very new to Arduino, and working with microcontrollers all together. I have read about Arduino in a magazine, and decided to check out this technology. Since then, I have ordered my first Arduino, and started learning how to program, and control stuff with Arduino. Currently I'm just playing around with LEDs, trying to learn the basics. However, while I was reading some reviews and going through some examples, a question came to my mind, whether Arduino is being used commercially, or is this platform mainly used for prototyping? Are there any commercial projects built based on Arduino platform? I apologise if this is posted in the wrong forum... I wasn't sure where this question should belong :)

Thanks, Jerry

I was gonna nag at you there, til you saved yourself :) This would probably best fit in Barsport.

Either way,

It COULD be possible, but I doubt it, arduino is meant fro prototyping, and if one were to use it commercially, depending on scale, the code/circuit would be modified to fit on a custom chip/set of chips.

At the very least, use an actual arduino to program ATMega-164's then plug them into custom circuits without the headers or FTDI USB-Serial converter, that would shave the cost while retaining functions.

In any case, if you plan to have a product commercialy available, you'll have to check with massimo and all the guys behind the arduino. I think they'll deserve some "royalties" of any kind. But if you are going to mass produce you stuff, you'll certainly have to rewrite your program from scratch in order to have it fitted for mass chip burning (not sure about that, maybe you can have a dump of your sketch + the bootloader directly burned in factory). Anyway, this series of article is great : http://www.bunniestudios.com/blog/?cat=7