Common Anode 5" 7-segment LED

Hi all,
I’ve been using Arduino for about 18 months now, but this is my first post on the forums. I came up with a control scheme for a 7-segment LED and I just want to run it by everyone to see if you can think of any issues.

My friend ordered 4 cheap 5" 7-segment LEDs to display scores in the game we’re building. When they arrived we tested them to find (1) they like to be driven by 12V and (2) they have a common anode when I was expecting a common cathode. They were advertised as already having the resistors in-line with the LED’s.

Inspired by charlieplexing, I came up with an way to control 1 digit using only the Uno (USB powered) and an external 12V supply. I hook the positive 12V up to the Common Anode of the display, and I connect the cathode for each segment to its own IO pin on the Uno. I start by setting all 7 pins to INPUT, effectively removing them from the circuit and keeping the whole display off. Then to turn on each individual segment, I set that segment’s pin to OUTPUT LOW (0V), allowing the pin to sink the current running through the LED from the 12V supply. Does anybody see any problems with this?

I was worried about operating current of the LEDs and if each pin could sink that much. I put my ammeter in series with an individual segment. It would not light the circuit when on the mA setting; and when I switched to the 10A setting, it lit, but current did not register on the meter. I then put the ammeter in series with the common anode, so all current from all segments is passing through it. When I have the number 8 displayed at 12.5V, the anode current reads 0.01A on my display, so it seems as if the whole digit is only drawing a maximum of 14mA at 12.5V. To me this seems to be well within the range of 20mA per pin. I am testing this on an Uno, but the final project will probably utilize a Mega2560 as 7 * 4 = 28 pins would be needed just to drive the 4-digit display, not to mention sensors and buttons.