Common cathode leds in serie and parallel

Hi,

First of all, I'm new to electronics and I want to use Arduino for a project. I want to use Arduino to control 99 RGB leds. I want them all to change color simultaniously or flicker, or fade, or whatever (but I don't need to address them individually)

Some online led calculator told me that the best way to do this using 12V is by making 33 parallel connections of 3 leds in series.

But I have no idea how to put 4-pin leds in series (or parallel for that matter), all I find online is how to do it with 2-pin leds. And my other question is if I'll be able to do what I want, just with the Arduino board, or do I need extensions? (or is there some other kind of board that is better suited for this?)

Normally with 2-pin LEDs series is…

12V—LED—LED—LED—RESISTOR—DRIVER

Parallel, all red LEDs, repeat for other colours.

|—LED—LED—LED—RESISTOR—|
12V—|—LED—LED—LED—RESISTOR—|—DRIVER
|—LED—LED—LED—RESISTOR—|
|—LED—LED—LED—RESISTOR—|

But presumably these LEDs have a common anode and three cathodes (or vice versa), in which case I can’t see how you could put them in series. I also don’t see that it matters much, I think you have to connect all 99 anodes together, all 33 blue cathodes together etc and have three drivers, one for each colour.

|—BLU—RESISTOR—|
|—BLU—RESISTOR—|—DRIVER
|—BLU—RESISTOR—|
|
12V—|—GRN—RESISTOR—|
|—GRN—RESISTOR—|—DRIVER
|—GRN—RESISTOR—|
|
|—BLU—|
|—BLU—|—BIG RESISTOR—DRIVER
|—BLU—|

The resistors could be combined into one large one per colour (as I’ve done with the blue LEDs) depending on the current used.

just with the Arduino board, or do I need extensions?

The Arduino will do just fine, but it will need “extensions”, specifically three drivers to sink the current from 33 LEDs.

Rob

thanks for your reply :)

Could you give me some information about those 3 drivers I need? Type, here I find them, what they cost?

Thanks in advance.