Communication between 2 board

Hello,

I am new to arduino and I am planning to do a personal hobby project which involves 2 boards communicating wirelessly. I plan to use the Yun board but i am not sure whether this wireless communication between 2 board is possible.

Another requirement is that one board send signal when i push one button, then the other board responds if it is near n what is the distance.

Is this possible? What are the sensor(for long distance measurement) and wireless communication; and board (YUN or other) do I need?

Regards, Rakesh

I plan to use the Yun board but i am not sure whether this wireless communication between 2 board is possible.

A doddle.

Another requirement is that one board send signal when i push one button, then the other board responds if it is near n what is the distance

Very difficult.

Needs more specification.

Thank you for your reply.

There may be long distance between the boards,so what type of communication technology is suitable for my project? Bluetooth? The boards will be autonomous but bluetooth asks for confirmation to pair before communicating, so how do i overcome the handshake?

I want to calculate the distance to differentiate when both boards are near to each other or when they are far apart.

There may be long distance between the boards

Again, needs more specification.

What is the environment? What is the required latency of detection? What is the cost of failure?

I want to calculate the distance to differentiate when both boards are near to each other or when they are far apart.

Do a quick search of the forum for people who have asked the same or similar questions - they come around about once a week.

"Long distance" is meaningless on its own. You need to put a number on it. Also you need to say whether there may be obstacles (eg walls) between the Arduinos.