Communication over USB works fine, Bluetooth is a different story...

Hey guys,

I’ve been a coder for 10 years. My code is simple and should be spot on.

Issue:

I am communicating with the Arduino via Bluetooth and USB. USB works fine. It’s only when I try and receive information from the Arduino via Bluetooth that things get buggy/odd.

I wrote an application in Visual Studio that connects with the Arduino and then sends it commands in the form of strings and the Arduino receives the strings and replies with strings.

My Visual Studio project isn’t the issue.

Arduino Code:

char character;
 String request = String("");    
 String response = String("");
 void setup() {
   Serial.begin(9600);
 }
 void loop() {
    while(Serial.available() > 0) {
      character = Serial.read();
      request.concat(character);  
     }
     if (request != "") {
     if (request == "GET_ID") {
     Serial.print("137");
     delay(50);
     request = "";
     }      
     if (request == "GET_AT") {
     Serial.print("<at>76.0 F<at/>");
     request = "";
     }      
     if (request == "GET_RT") {
     Serial.print("<at>68.0 F<at/>");
     request = "";
     }   
     }
   }

The first time I send a command this is what happens:
I should receive “137”.
The Arduino sends “13”.

The second time I click send:
The Arduino sends “71”

The third time I click send:

The Arduino sends “37”

So after three clicks I have “137137”
Like I said before, USB works fine. With USB I only have to click it once and I’ll have “137”

So USB works fine and my Visual Studio app is sending commands fine.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to give me.
-Jeb

Jebtrillion: I’ve been a coder for 10 years. My code is simple and should be spot on.

In another 10 years you will have learned not to make rash statements :)

I don't see any sign of Bluetooth stuff in the code you posted.