Comparing accelerometers with electromechanical sensors in the context of airbags

Hi there,

I’m a second year pre-engineering student and i’m working on airbags for my end of the year project. In a particular part of my project, i am looking to compare the use of accelerometers VS electromechanical sensors in airbags for shock/deceleration detection, in order to showcase why car manufacturers have moved on from electromechanical sensors. I was wondering if doing two different experiments : one with an arduino and an accelerometer, and another with a rolling ball switch would allow me to conclude?

Thanks in advance for any advice that will be given :slight_smile: !

Do you have an automotive-grade accelerometer to experiment with?
What do you hope to demonstrate?

30 years ago I was involved in creating a crash, impact, sensor. The technology ordered before my time was a 3 dimensional electronical accelerometer. Sure it detected solid crashes head on. However the customers wanted to detect if their fork lift trucks did cut corners and bend the legs of the 300 feet tall racking legs.
What was very disturbing was that the "impact sensor" false triggered from other mechanical noise, vibrations in the truck.

My advise is to drop the highly sensitive electronical accelerometers and use more low frequency sensitive devices.

Define the axis for the sensor! Front/rear, side,..... Know the rule of impacts. The Q-factor, the goodness factor means more than a lot. Think about colliding with a 1 ton bale of cotton or a 1 ton block of concrete. I assure You the readings from every sensor will difer a lot!

1 Like

Really you ought to be researching this properly . As a student you are supposed to be learning how to research - when you finally get a job you can’t be asking questions on a hobby forum for free consultancy .
Look at technology available, look for existing research papers, look at what is down now etc .