compile "external" C++ robotics libraries using arduino

Hey guys,

I'm not even sure if the subject is phrased correctly as I'm not a programming expert.

This is what I understand of the arduino and its programing language:

All standard c/c++ libraries supported by the avr-g++ compiler should work (ref: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/FAQ)

Now I want to use one of these robotics libraries: roboop (http://sourceforge.net/projects/roboop/) or orocos kdl (http://www.orocos.org/kdl)

From what I know about them, they need to be "built" or "compiled" before they can be used using tools such as cygwin and Cmake. In terms of their dependencies I think orocos requires a library called Eigen2. Finally they can both be installed on windows or linux.

I have no idea what it means to "build" or "compile" them before you can use them, but all I really want to know is if I manage to install one of these and create some code using these libraries, and then include the resulting .cpp file as a header in an arduino sketch, and I guess place the entire library in the sketch folder, would it compile and run on the arduino?? (assuming there was enough memory).

I hope thats clear (it never is no matter how well I try to phrase my questions lol).

Thanks in advance.

This is what I understand of the arduino and its programing language:

All standard c/c++ libraries supported by the avr-g++ compiler should work

No. What do you expect popen(), fork(), etc. to do? The code will compile on the Arduino, but it will not work, for any reasonable definition of work.

From what I know about them, they need to be "built" or "compiled" before they can be used using tools such as cygwin and Cmake.

Wrong. They need to be compiled by the compiler that is being used to link to functions in the libraries.

I have no idea what it means to "build" or "compile" them

Hmmm. That's going to be a real problem.