compile works and upload works but it doesn't preform like its supposed to

So I have a code that is supposed to, in the long run, take a variable from a website and have the Arduino use it to make an LED act like a PWM so I am currently trying to get it to connect to the website I’m not sure if I’m doing it correctly but from what I understand this code should print out "Couldn’t get a wifi connection"when it cant connect and “Connected to wifi. My address:” on the serial monitor when it can. I’m having the trouble that when it uploads it works fine but this is what shows up on the serial monitor so I don’t think its working correctly. I am a novice when it comes to programming and have been struggling to figure this out for a while.

Unable to connect: retrying (0)…
Unable to connect: retrying (2)…
Unable to connect: retrying (3)… connected!
connected!
connected!

this is my code

#include <Console.h>
#include <TextFinder.h>
#include <Bridge.h>
#include <WiFi.h>
#include <WiFiServer.h>

WiFiClient client;
TextFinder finder( client );
char ssid[] = "192.168.240.1";          //  your network SSID (name) 
char pass[] = "arduino";   // your network password
int status = WL_IDLE_STATUS;
WiFiServer server(80);

void setup() {

const char* server = "http://192.168.240.1/sd/serial";//this is supposed to define the server 
  Bridge.begin();
  Console.begin();
status = WiFi.begin(ssid, pass);
}

void loop() {
  client = server.available();
  if (client); {
    while (client.connected()); {
      if (client.available()) ;{
        char c = (char) client.read();}}}

//to see if its acctualy connecting 

if ( status != WL_CONNECTED) { 
    Console.println("Couldn't get a wifi connection");
    while(true);
  } 
  else {
    server.begin();
    Console.print("Connected to wifi. My address:");
    IPAddress myAddress = WiFi.localIP();
    Console.println(myAddress);
  }
}

(deleted)