complete beginner.. please explain?

I'm going right back to the basics with electronics as there's a lot I've never quite understood.

I was just messing around with the dimmer tutorial and thought I'd take the voltage and current measurements with 1, 2 and 3 LED's in series.

Here are all the values I got;

Can someone please explain why in the scenario with 3 LED's in series, the voltmeter would show ≈0.4V when checking them individually but then give a higher total voltage?

Also, why is the total voltage lower when only 1 LED is connected?

And finally, why is there no/little voltage across the resistor when there are 2 and 3 LED's?

Thanks!!

Your image didn't come through.

Have a look at this: (Out of Date) Guide: How to Insert Uploaded Images in a Post - Website and Forum - Arduino Forum

...I didn't see your image either, but I was able to "find it".

One of your "problems" is, 3V is not enough. You are operating the LEDs at "undefined" conditions.

LEDs are a little tricky because (like all diodes) they are non-linear. That means the resistance changes when voltage changes. The resistance is high below the forward operating voltage.* Above the operating voltage, resistance is low.

Red LEDs operate at about 2V, so you need at least 6V to "properly" run 3 of them in series.

Voltages across series components sum-up. Or we can say the voltage "divides" among the series components, proportional to their resistance. If you apply 3V, then the individual voltages will sum to 3V. (If you measure something different, you're getting measurement errors with your meter, and no meter is perfect.)