complete beginner, roadblock with "#include <OneWire.h>"

Hi, first post here, and I hope I’m posting in the correct subforum. If not, please advise a more appropriate one.

I’ve just wired up my first project, which simply involved replicating the setup shown here.

I’m using a leonardo board, and am using a micro usb cable to connect to my PC, and the “ON” LED is a solid green. The adjacent “L” LED is blinking orange.

For software, I’m using Arduino 1.0.6.

My device manager (windows 7) tells me that COM 5 is being used for the arduino, so in the arduino software, I’ve changed the serial port to COM 5 (and I’ve also changed the board to match mine).

Now when I try to verify the first line of code from the first link, I get the following error message (this is just the first line of the error message):

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\OneWire\OneWire.cpp:85:24: error: WConstants.h: No such file or directory

This is when it tries to compile the following line:

#include <OneWire.h>

I’ve googled this error message, and found this instruction:

When compile an Arduino Library, it fails to compile with the message:

error: WConstants.h: No such file or directory

The solution is to delete the line

#include “WConstants.h”

and then in the .h file, add the following:

#if ARDUINO >= 100
#include “Arduino.h”
#else
#include “WProgram.h”
#endif

This way, the code will compile, and it will be compatible to Arduino 0023 and 1.0 versions.

I’m not sure which .h file it’s referring to, but I went ahead and added those lines to the OneWire.h file. I couldn’t find any instance of “WConstants.h” in that file, so I wasn’t able to remove that line (although I think they meant to remove the line from the sketch code).

Upon rerunning the code, the error msg is much shorter - now the whole error message is that one line:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\libraries\OneWire\OneWire.cpp:85:24: error: WConstants.h: No such file or directory