COMPLETE NOOB - How to code rocker switch

So I'm trying to create a switch panel for a flight simulator. I have wired 15 rocker switches (on/off switches) to the board. Each switch has 2 prongs. I wire one prong to one hole and another to another hole (say positive to A2 and negative to D4).

I downloaded the IDE and have been going over the tutorials. But all I can find are the darn LED light tutorials. And even then they seem so technical to me. Can anyone explain in layman terms how to program the switch on the board to act as an on off switch for say turning the lights on or off in the simulator?

What kind of code?

One side of switch to ground, other side of switch to input pin.
Input pin configured as INPUT_PULUP.

Switch is closed when a digitalRead on the pin returns LOW.

Wire one side of all of the switches together and then to GND on the Arduino. Wire the other side of the switches to individual pins on the Arduino but don't use pins 0 and 1 as they have a special function. With that wiring in place, when a switch is closed the Arduino pin will be connected to GND and that can be detected in the program, but what about when the switch is open ? What state will it be in ? As it stands, who knows, so it's time for some programming. Note the pinMode() function and the comment

Connect one of the switch pins to pin D2 and copy this program into the Arduino

const byte switchPin0 = 2;  //give the switch pin a name 

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600); //start the Serial interface at 9600 baud
  pinMode(switchPin0, INPUT_PULLUP);  //the switch pin is an input pulled HIGH by an internal resistor
}

void loop()
{
  byte switchState0 = digitalRead(switchPin0);  //read the state of the input pin (HIGH or LOW)
  if (switchState0 == LOW)  //if it is LOW then the switch is closed
  {
    Serial.println("Switch 0 is closed"); //print a message
  }
}

Open the Serial monitor (Tools/Serial Monitor on the IDE)