complete noob in need of help

I'm trying to set something up but the truth is that I'm a bit lost and I've really run out of time (school assignment, kind of jumped into something I have no experience with). If I say something silly, well, I don't know if I'm on the right track or not.

I bought an arduino duemilanove and did the blinking LED script and I have a painfully basic understanding of circuits... 8-)

Here's what I want to do. I want to set up a 3x3 grid that will

a) detect where I put a "piece" b) communicate that detection to Max 4.5

I figure I can dedicate the 9 digital pins to the 9 respective tiles? I read a the tutorial on the Arduino playground about communicating with Max 4.5... as long as I can set up SOME visual representation of where the "piece" is sitting on the grid.

Do I need to etch a circuit, or can I get away with something more simple? It can be totally crude and temporary if necessary... in fact, the easier this is to put together the better. :P

ANY help is super appreciated, although admittedly I would love it if someone would just walk me through a possible process. I don't want to just make this post and never post anything here again, I took on this project out of personal interest and I'm certain I'm going ot stick around... If I can at least get a push in the right direction I would feel much better. :-/

Oh yeah, if it's a good idea to etch a PCB in this case I can definitely do that. lmao I must sound so lame to you guys :(

one relatively easy solution to your problrm would be to use 9 reed switches, and have small magnets in your "pieces".

A reed switch is a switch that closes when a magnet is close to it.

You could easily read the state tof 9 reed switches with Arduino, and send it to Max or whatever.

EDIT: Do you need to distinguis between the pieces or is it enough to know that a piece is on a specifik tile?

First of all thank you so much. A friend of mine mentioned magnets but I didn't totally know what he meant.