Complicated project, need help.

I want to make a locating beacon of sorts. What the beacon has to do is send out a signal to be recieved by a handheld receiver. Now that a signal is being sent out I need a reciever to pick up that signal and get its direction and or distance relative to my position. The hardest thing about this project is, it cant use a gps. I'm shure you guys have many questions, just ask. Thanks

You can't really get location or distance without multiple transmitter beacons. Even then, you would need them to be perfectly synchronized.

You could determine the direction of a beacon if you had multiple antennas on the receiver and switched through them rapidly. Do some research on "fox hunting"... it is very active in the Amateur Radio community.

Getting distance might be possible by sending a ping back and forth with a timestamp, then calculating the delay.

I'm not a expert, but what I would do is...

I would use 3 Arduinos to receive the signals on 3 receiver antennas on the same "device" all at predefined distance Ex. 30 mm. Then have a single extra device "or Arduino" do the timing to the 3 Arduinos connected to the antennas. Now when a signal comes from a beacon, you will be able to compare all times seen between all antennas and can use whatever equation you use to do a Range and bearing of the 3 antennas. If you already knew the position of the Head in GPS, you could apply the Position to the range and bearing to get a accurate GPS position with the beacon signaling.

How you do the beacon signaling is critical too, I would use a slow moving signal like sound so that the Arduinos can detect it and more accurately detect the difference on receiving antennas. The precision level of the Arduino "correct me if mistaken" is 1 nano second? Ideas ideas...

My question was going to be the medium...air or water? Etc.

Just a point. Have you got a licence to transmit at those or any other frequencies? I thought not.