Component Selection For Standalone Keypad-driven value finder

Hello,
I'm brand new to arduino and any sort of microprocessor work. I'm quite familiar with programming and electrical work so need no help on that front, but have been tasked with creating a simple product and am overwhelmed by the amount of possible components.

Goal:
To be able to enter a 2 digit number onto a keypad and have an LCD display 1-3 corresponding text strings for the given value. Idealy, the possible values and corresponding text strings could be typed up on a computer by the end user and uploaded to the device, but I suspect this be a programming hurdle later on.

Requirements:

• As cheap as possible, or close to it if something is worth the upgrade.
  • As small as possible. It's for an attachment to a handheld device.
  • Battery powered. Preferably rechargeable, however disposable batteries could be viable.
  • LCD screen capable of 3-4 lines of text (3 would be perfect)
  • Matrix keypad (trying to avoid touchscreen for durability reasons)
  • USB port for computer connection
  • Preferably, the ability to store a small value-string list (Less than 100 pairs) to memory, As I'd rather not have this hard-coded.

Closing
With all that said, What list of components do I need to buy to get started with this project, and any general advice would be welcomed.
The biggest head-spins I have is which arduino, does it have the ability to store and read a kind of text file, and how do I correctly implement a rechargeable battery.

Thank you greatly!

What volume of data is involved ?
A 2 digit number implies up to 100 possible entries. How many characters of text is required for each entry ?

Knowing how much text is required will inform the decision on the required hardware.

UKHeliBob:
What volume of data is involved ?
A 2 digit number implies up to 100 possible entries. How many characters of text is required for each entry ?