Concept Review - Sophisticated Switch Panel

Hello, everyone. First off, let me introduce myself; I am a mechanical engineer with a bit of experience with programming and control systems, but not much hands-on experience with Arduino itself. I'm not scared of by technical projects or concepts, and I don't mind troubleshooting and optimizing systems.

I have a project I've been considering for a while, and I would like to have some of you who are more familiar with Arduino let me know what you think of the concepts feasibility (with regards to Arduino's ability to handle it) and specific component suggestions (boards, shields, components, etc.). With that, here goes!

I would like to use an Arduino to control a sophisticated switch panel for an automotive application. The Arduino will interpret signals from the switch panel and control various automotive relays while also providing feedback to indicators on the switch panel.

Switch Panel

The switch panel will have 7 momentary switches which will each control various functions (that will/can vary from application to application); some switches will have only one function, some will have multiple (1st Press = Function 1, 2nd Press = Function 2, etc.). Some switches will reset when power is removed, some will need to remember their last-used state. All switches will have RGB LED backlighting and an RGB status indicator LED.

Relays

The relays used and controlled by these switches will be standard automotive-type 12V ISO micro relays. These typically have a coil activation threshold of at least 8V at 0.1A. The relays used will NOT be latching relays, so the coil may need to remain energized for quite some time. At least 7 relays will be used, but there is a chance that more will be required. For now, let's say 10 relays will be the maximum amount.

Controller (Arduino)