Conditional in digitalWrite()?

Hello, I’m pretty new to any C style language, and Arduinos as well…

I’m wondering if there’s a neater way of doing this

if <true> {
digitalWrite(pinNumber, HIGH);
}
else{
digitalWrite(pinNumber, LOW);
}

To something more like

boolean test = a>b;
digitalWrite(Pinnumber, test);

I don’t see any conversion function listed in the reference to do that, and doing it the long way just looks ugly to me.

A second problem I have is I’m creating a library that uses a 2 dimensional array, and you can’t do that unless you define the size of all but the first dimension… I really don’t want to hard code a limit in the library, is there any sort of workaround?

Rx7man: boolean test = a>b; digitalWrite(Pinnumber, test);

That's legal.

Rx7man: A second problem I have is I'm creating a library that uses a 2 dimensional array, and you can't do that unless you define the size of all but the first dimension... I really don't want to hard code a limit in the library, is there any sort of workaround?

Nope. That's a rule in c++.

Nope. That's a rule in c++.

You can define all of the dimensions. What you can't do is define a 2D array and expect it to grow automagically.

There's the ternary operator - does no favors for readability though:

digitalWrite(pin,test?HIGH:LOW);

you can even do

digitalWrite(pin, a > b);

as true == HIGH and false == LOW (by definition )

not very maintainable but ...

OK, I guess my error messages stem from something else, thanks.. I'll look into it further and figure that part out.

About the arrays

I'd like to define that there is a 2 dimensional array, but not allocate memory for it until the library's constructor, at which point the user can define the bounds for both dimensions... In VB, that I'm used to, it would be

Dim Array(,) as integer . . . Redim Array(3,7)

Rx7man:
Hello, I’m pretty new to any C style language, and Arduinos as well…

I’m wondering if there’s a neater way of doing this

if <true> {

}
else{
}