Confused about how RGB LED strips work/Other advice for a lofty project

Ok, so this will take a bit of context (and a lot of patience from anybody who reads this, I'm TOTALLY new to this and just wanna get some feedback). My plan without going into a ton of detail is to make a PIU pad (Pump it Up, like Dance Dance Revolution but five keys) and I want one of the panel to light up when stepped on as well as have a keyboard stroke outputted, but the confusion mostly comes after this. Is there any way to sync the strips to an external ecosystem like NZXT CAM through a HUE+, but only have the strip shine when a panel is stepped on. Basically, I want to sync up the strips effects and lighting with NZXT's CAM, but not have the strips on 24/7 whenever the pad is plugged in and only when stepped on. My first idea was something along the lines of have an LED extension cable plugged into the HUE+ and then have that go into some kind of controller that doesn't allow the strip to turn on unless also receiving an input from a panel, but I'm not sure if, one, this is possible through an Arduino board, and two, if you can send data through something like that that can correctly tell how the strips to light up. I'm sorry if this all sounds super uninformed, but this isn't really something I can easily Google lol. If anybody has advice on maybe an alternative way to do this, it'd be much appreciated to hear! I know the whole syncing up with a different software's ecosystem kinda difficult, but it's mostly just an aesthetics thing in the end so it'll blend well with my setup. Thanks again, and please ask question if clarification is needed! I'll attach links below to the HUE+ if you don't know what it is.

https://www.nzxt.com/products/hue-plus

EDIT: A quick edit after the fact for clarification- I want to control LED strips through NZXT's CAM software in tandem with a HUE+, but only have the LED strip under a certain foot panel light up when pressed.