Confusion about taking Arduino past prototyping

I'm a web designer who's trying to get into physical computing. I bought the Arduino and have been doing a lot of reading, but while I can follow a tutorial and make something work on a breadboard I still don't understand some key concepts. The biggest one is how exactly do you take this blinking LED off of the breadboard? I'm not sure how to bridge the gap from an Arduino that's plugged into a computer and dependent on a breadboard to something that stands on it's own and is run by batteries or a power source. Is it an involved process to turn your prototype into a standalone device?

I really appreciate any input.

There are several levels of standalone Arduino hardware.

The first is put the Arduino and your breadboard in a box with a battery. That isn't hard to understand? The arduino has a 7 to 12V raw power input socket and on-board 5V regulator

Secondly if everything you need is available as a shield you can stack them, put in a box.

Thirdly you can then move to mounting everything from the breadboard onto stripboard and permanently connect (maybe using plugin headers for any breakout modules)

The most complete way is to design a PCB with everything on it (including the 328 microcontroller, crystal etc) and create a single board that is dedicated to the function. This is how mass production would be done but usually needs surface mount technology (less easy to solder yourself) Examples include the Rainbowduino.

I apologize in advance because I am completely new/ignorant to any form of electrical work and engineering: