Connect Arduino UNO to a remote database

Hi everybody.

I'm going to use Ethernet Shield for Arduino in order to connect my Arduino Mega 2560 to a database hosted on a remote domain.

I'm not an expert at networks or at databases, so I'm not sure what's the correct way to connect my sketch to the database for downloading some data.

I know that the Ethernet.h library permits me to send a HTTP request to an IP, and that I can also select the port to communicate into (for accesing my own database on a databases server, right?). But I don't know if it's possible to access to a DB only using a HTTP request.

Can anybody write me a simple example of how to connect to a remote database and download some data of a table?

Excuse my ignorance. I use the forum hardly ever, always prefer to search on Google, but in this case I don't know enough about DB for understanding the most of the websites.

Thank you!

Many years ago when I did this same thing, having an Arduino Mega with onboard Ethernet send data to a database at my hosting site at the time.

What I did was to send data via HTTP 'GET' method to my hosting site where a PHP script would then take the data and open the MySQL database and insert the data accordingly.

I also had another PHP script when a HTTP client connected to retrieve the data from the database to be displayed in near real time on a web page.

I recall the PHP scripts were not complex.

You need to know what your web hosting provider provides you in terms of these features, though I think it's all pretty common these days.

There are plenty of examples of Arduino code to use HTTP 'GET' and 'POST' data.

Paul - VK7KPA

Great! That's the kind of answer I was looking for.