connect audio cable as analog input

I'm busy with brainstorming about a new project of mine, a massive LED VU meter with ~250 LED's.

but as a start, before buying a few shift registers, i'l use 10 LED's ;) but how do i use a audio signal (from my line out) as a analog input? and then as a variable with 1023 (or 1024?) steps.

and after that, is it possible to control the lights like this

if var0 (the variable) is equal or higher than 100 put LED0 on if var0 is equal or higher than 200 put LED1 on etc.

thanks for any help, oddish2211

You will need to filter the input to slow down the changes and create a variable DC signal.

and do you have an idea how to do that?

This might help http://101science.com/dsp.htm

you probably also need to amplify the audiosignal. You will only get values in the 0 - 1023 range from the ADC if the audio signal is in the 0 - 5 range.

isn't there an easier way? because i'm just a beginner on microcontrollers.

isn't it possible to directly connect the audio cable to analog0 and the ground to the ground?

I posted this only a couple days ago in another thread: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1221551839/24#24

Oh, here's a demo of that circuit controlling some shiftbrites: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGP3x-mrZ8g

You cant expect it to work by just connecting the audio signal to an analog in. The audiosignal is way too week.

Each of the 1024 steps in the analog to digital conversion represents about 4.88 mV.

if you connect a very week signal, you wil only use a very little part of the 0 - 1023 range of the ADC. You would end up with very low readings even if the music is loud.

You really need to do something like what Macegr showed in the shiftbtight post.