Connect more Arduinos through Serial

Hello,

My setup is like this:

I have one master arduino, that will transmit broadcast message to all the slave arduinos. This part i have managed to do as i connected my master TX to the slaves RX. But how can i send info collected from the slaves to the master?

The problem it seems to be that when I transmit from one slave TX my message will not arrive to the master's RX pin.

How can i resolve this problem?

I don't want to use I2C connection, because all the slaves will have I2C devices attached and i dont think they can be slave for one device and master for other.

I can only speculate on the operation of the TTL tx/rx pins, but it might be possible to put a diode in the slave tx lines such that they will not supply voltage into the common master rx connection.

What kind of diode?

I am kind of new to electronics.

Providing each slave has its own address and responds only when it get a command this should (logical) work. So post your code. Each slave will need its own address and thus its own code.

Mark

chip69: What kind of diode? I am kind of new to electronics.

I'd try a common small signal diode aligned such that current can flow from the common master rx connection to the slave tx.

chip69: The problem it seems to be that when I transmit from one slave TX my message will not arrive to the master's RX pin.

How can i resolve this problem?

Yes, that would be the problem - the different slaves' Tx pins are all shorted together and fighting against each other. It's even possible that you are overloading and damaging the pins by effectively shorting a transmitting agent's Tx pin via the other non-transmitting agents.