Connecting 10 HC-SR04 to one board

Hello!

I'm planning to build a watering replenishing system.Do You think is possible to connect 9 or 10 ultrasonic sensors to one board? (I was thinking about an Arduino 2560).I've read somewhere that there could be problems because of interference signal between the sensors but since I'm a total newbie I don't know.
Cables from the shield will be long about 2 meters (not more) or alternatively I can split 5+5 sensors on 2 distinct boards (always using 2 meters cables) or using a different approach I can use one hc-sr04 for each Arduino Micro (for a total of 10 Micros).
Any suggestion really appreciated!!! :slight_smile:

Cheers

Robert

Yes, it is possible to connect ten sensors to a board with 20 I/O pins.
Whether or not the audio signals interfere depends on how they are positioned relative to each other, and how they are triggered.

ok thanks! Could You please suggest me a suitable shield?

You don't need a shield if you've got the I/O pins

Thank You again :slight_smile: :wink:

After doing a little bit of research I've found out that the hc-sr04 sensors are not suitable for my purpose,apparently they're good to measure centimeters (even with the Newping library) while I need to measure millimeters.The US-100 sensors seems more performing and I see they've got a temp.sensor that gives compensated readings.
Now another problem arise:since the us-100 must be operated in serial mode (to benefit of temp.correction) on the tx-rx pins,I'll need 9+9 tx and rx!! Arduino Mega2560 has got only 4+4 so I need 3 boards :o
At this point I see as the only solution to get 9 Arduino Micro or a similar board!

Or you could use software serial.

RobertR:
since the us-100 must be operated in serial mode (to benefit of temp.correction)

What makes you believe that?
Because you can read the temperature?
Because the distance can be read in mm?