Connecting 3 BNO055 Orientation Sensors to a Arduino Mega

Hi,

Just as some background on me and my general inadequacy when it comes to electronics; I'm a Mech Eng student doing his final year dissertation on the gait of humans. I have been tasked with the production of a sensor rig comprised of a Arduino mega and 3 BNO055 sensors to map peoples gait. This is where my problems start.

I have no idea how to connect 3 sensors and have them read at the same time. I've connected one using the wiring guide provided by adafruit. I have an idea on how to wire the 2nd up using the ADR pin. But I have two large issues:

1) I have no idea how to connect the third sensor 2) I have no idea how to code the 3 two work in tandem with each other so that I can map the orientation of peoples thigh, calf, and foot movements.

I have asked my supervisors and the people in the electronics dept how to go about this but their answers tend to be vague and it seems that they're working of the basis that I know anything to do with programming, which I don't. I thought I'd come here and see if anyone would be willing to help me out, point me to the answers, or spell it out for me (as bad as that sounds). I am just looking for anyone willing to point me in the right direction so i can get this thing working.

Many Thanks in advance

kuurgon111: I have no idea how to connect 3 sensors and have them read at the same time.

It is impossible for the sensors to be polled/report data at the same exact time. You can poll each sensor in quick succession and it will seem that the measurements will be at the same time.

From the Adafruit website:

ADR: Set this pin high to change the default I2C address for the BNO055 if you need to connect two ICs on the same I2C bus. The default address is 0x28. If this pin is connected to 3V, the address will be 0x29

Looks like you will need a second I2C bus to handle the third BNO055 - you can only have at most 2 BNO055 sensors on a single I2C bus.