Connecting 6 active studio monitors to arduino

Hi, I'm new to the world of arduino, but I have been a programmer in max msp for some years, I will be using the maxuino external to do all the coding side of things. But my question is can I send different signals to 6 active studio monitors from an arduino. Eventually I hope to run 36 using the arduino mega, but for now I'm concentrating on a prototype. I have no knowledge at all in electronics so is there any components I would need between the arduino and monitors. This is for a sound art installation, based on gabor's ideas around granular sound. This means the signal needs to be very accurate. Thanks in advance :)

What is an active studio monitor and what sort of signal do you need to send it?

I’m thinking the Arduino may not be the best choice for this…

I’m thinking a computer with multiple soundcards… Maybe a USB hub and multiple USB soundcards. Most applications will only address one soundcard at a time, but if you are the programmer you should be able to do it. (For 6-channels you can simply use a 5.1 channel “surround sound” soundcard.)

You CAN get an approximately line-level signal (~5V peak-to-peak, 1.7V RMS) from the Arduino’s “analog” outputs and that’s a perfect level for driving an active monitor. (Actually it’s a little “hot”, but almost all monitors have volume controls, and it’s always better to have a bit too much signal than too little.)

This means the signal needs to be very accurate.

The Arduino doesn’t have a true digital-to-analog converter. It has 8-bit PWM that can approximate analog. So, you’d need an external DAC chip. (Or an audio “shield” i.e. an Arduino plug-in board.)

If you are going to send analog audio into the Arduino, it does have multiple analog inputs, but they are only 10-bits.