Connecting Arduino to GM862 breakout board problem

I ordered the GM862 and RS232 sparkfun breakout board (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=478) and got the module working connected to my serial port on my laptop. However, I am having problems getting a serial connection from the Arduino to the breakout board. I tried connecting the TX and RX pins of the Arduino to the TXD RXD RX-0 TX-1 and even to the DB9 female connector on the breakout board, with and without ground, reversed the TX, RX, and even tried pulling out the Atmega328 from my Arduino and connecting in terminal using all the methods and typing AT but not getting any response like I should.

I am pretty new to electronics but never had a problem like this connecting the Arduino to a part via TX and RX. Since I reversed the lines (which could damage things), I double checked that the module and everything still works and its still working fine on my computer.

Hope someone can help, been playing with this for a few hours now.

Update - I can use just the TX and GND from my laptops serial port to send a command to the gprs module, i disconnected everything else and it works fine. I tried to do the same with the Arduino by connecting the TX and the GND from the arduino to the serial breakout board but nothing.