Connecting color detector sensor, data logger, and RTC to Arduino Uno

Hello,

I am trying to learn how to work with electronics. My desired project is to use a color detector sensor (Atlas Scientific) to read colors and record readings utilizing a data logger and RTC. Based on the color detected, the corresponding color on an RGB LED will illuminate a fiber optic fabric. However, I need the RGB LED to fade in and out like the screensaver on a computer monitor.

I have no experience in electronics, hardware assembly, or programming. I have purchased the following items to get started with my project:

Arduino Uno R3
USB Cable
LED RGB clear common cathode
Resistor 330 Ohm
Fiber optic fabric
Open Log
Jumper wires
Breadboard ( small, about same size as the Arduino)
8 pin female headers
Alligator test leads
Color detector sensor

I have spent many hours looking for videos and forums. If someone can give me an idea where to begin or recommend a book, I would greatly appreciate it. My deadline is Oct. 20.

Thank you!

I have 30 yrs experience with electronics. I am not a programmer per se but I get by .
You need to give us a bit more of a SITREP (Situation Report).
Besides your googling , have you done anything else ? (any hands on experience with arduino or anything ?)
Have you even run the Blink Example successfully yet ?
Why are you doing this ? (what's with the Oct-20 deadline ?)
You apparently are not familiar with forum protocol.
Your initial briefing (post) should include what you have posted already , along with any needed datasheets , such as for sensors.
You owe us a link or datasheet for your sensor.
You owe us a link or datasheet for your optic fiber

record readings utilizing a data logger and RTC

Define "datalogger"
The RTC is not listed in your parts list . What's up with that ?