Connecting two stepper motors to a single Arduino board

Hi there!

I am planning on using a single Arduino UNO board to drive two stepper motors, rated at 1.68A each. Presently, I am planning to use two A4988 stepper motor drivers to drive this. I’m still uncertain on my choice of stepper motor drivers but there seems to be a lot of online resources on wiring this particular type of driver up to the logic circuit, and I’m a newbie when it comes to electronics, hence why it’s my choice. I’m aware that the rated continuous current this driver can deliver is 1A per phase, so I’m planning to purchase compatible heat sinks alongside them to bring the currents up to about 1.68A. Must this current entirely be supplied in order to get the motor moving without a load, or will it start moving at much lower a current, with current requirement increasing with greater driven loads?

I’m open to other suggestions of drivers if you have any.

It appears to me (based on the A4988 connection diagram appended below) that the 5V port on the logic board is used to power a single stepper motor driver. Is there a way of using the same 5V port to power a second stepper motor driver, or an alternate port I could use in the board to power a second driver? What will I be trading-offs with connecting two drivers to a single board (in terms of the depletion of processing resources) (i.e. less voltage available to power other devices on the board). I’ve heard of shields that can house more than one stepper motor driver whilst only needing a single power input from the Arduino, although I haven’t been able to personally find these. Would you be able to point me in the direction of one? Thanks for your help! :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

J

jp2617:
Is there a way of using the same 5V port to power a second stepper motor driver