"Connection Timed Out" Error with MKR 485 Shield Reading Energy Meter

First post, so please bear with me! I have some programming experience and have meddled with Arduino now for a year or two. I probably have just enough knowledge to be dangerous. :slight_smile:

I am trying to get my Arduino, an Arduino MKR WiFi 1010 with an Arduino MKR 485 shield, to read voltage, current, power, frequency, etc. from an energy meter with built-in Modbus RTU communication protocol. I have code setup to relay these values to a Home Assistant setup on a Rasberry Pi via MQTT. I have that all working, so I have just pared down my Arduino sketch code to reading voltage and outputting to serial monitor.

My problem is that I cannot seem to get any kind of response or communication link going between my MKR 485 shield and my energy meter. All I ever get is a “Connection timed out” error message no matter what I try.

Here is my code:

//import libraries
#include <ArduinoRS485.h>
#include <ArduinoModbus.h>

unsigned long rate = 60000; // default refresh rate in ms
unsigned long lastMillis = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  // start the Modbus RTU client
  if (!ModbusRTUClient.begin(9600)) {
    Serial.println("Failed to start Modbus RTU Client!");
    while (1);
  }
}

void loop() {
  if (millis() - lastMillis > rate) {
    lastMillis = millis();
    //make all the read calls
    float volt = readVoltage();
    delay(100);
    Serial.println(String(volt,3)+"V");
    delay(100);
  }
}

float readVoltage(){
  float volt = 0.;
  if (!ModbusRTUClient.requestFrom(0x01, HOLDING_REGISTERS, 0x0000, 2)) { //make the call to the register
    Serial.print("failed to read voltage! ");
    Serial.println(ModbusRTUClient.lastError()); //error handler
  }else{
    uint16_t word1 = ModbusRTUClient.read();  //read data from the buffer
    uint16_t word2 = ModbusRTUClient.read();
    uint32_t millivolt = word1 << 16 | word2; //bit math
    volt = millivolt/1000.0;
  }
  return volt;
}