Continous reading of multiple char's from a string through serial-connection

Hi all.

A total Noob at both programming and arduino here.

I'm working on a project where I want to hook up a some different LED's to the breadboard. I have watched a lot of tutorials and read a lot of guides and have gotten a basic understanding of most of what I need.

But I've hit a wall now. What I want to do is to assign a specific character to a specific LED, have a few of them next to each other and have them blink whenever their characters' are typed into to the Serial Monitor.

I.e. LED 1 blinks when a is received, LED 2 blinks when b is received etc... I've already been able to do that when I type in the characters one by one using the "if" and "serial.read" commands. But what I want to do is to be able to type in "abcdefghij" all at once, hit enter and then see LED 1 through 10 blink once. (not all at once but in succession of each other)

I am perfectly prepared to do my own research and to read about the methods on my own. But I am not sure which way to go here?

Should I read about "get.bytes"? "String to char array?" Etc... Which way would be the best to go here?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Read the chars into a char array. You know you're done when you receive an end of line character. Then you can process the array.

You probably could just put a delay in the code you are currently using.

The examples in serial inout basics show how to receive the data and save it in a char array. The second example may be what you need.

When the data is in the array just iterate through it get your effects.

I suspect that some simple maths could convert your received characters (e.g. a or b) into pin numbers for your LEDs so that you don't need any if statements.