Continue after microsecond timed interval

I've searched the forum for leads into this, but my main problem is how to define the search term in order to find what I want. So far. no luck.

I'm very new to Arduino but have been playing with PIC and other microcontrollers using assembly language and embedded 'C' for a long time. This is what I am trying to do with an UNO, staying within the Arduino IDE / environment and using existing functions and libraries if possible.

1) Poll an input for a state change. When the state changes, start a microsecond (not millisecond) timer running with a countdown time of 416uS.

2) While the timer is running, I need to execute some other code, which is why I can't just use 'delayMicroseconds()'. The total execution time of the code will always be substantially less than 416uS - it will always complete well before the timer times out. I will make sure that is the case. However, it will take a different amount of time, give or take up to maybe ten microseconds, each time, depending on the outcomes of various branches within the code.

3) When the code has executed, poll something (a timer flag?) until the timer completes its 416uS run. Then stop, reload and restart the 416uS timer. Then continue on to run more code.

I can see something which is almost exactly what I need in the form of the 'Metro' Functions in the contributed libraries, but these have a resolution of milliseconds rather than microseconds. Is there an Arduino workaround or method? If not, can I embed assembly language or C code using direct access to registers within the body of an Arduino sketch, for certain tasks not covered by existing libraries or functions?