Control 24v Parts?

Hello,

I am new to Arduino and electrical parts. I have an UNO R3 board. I have a project I am trying to build (still in design phase), but have hit a couple snags and could use some help working them out.

I need to control three 24v solenoids that are NC, and will open upon receiving power. I figured the best way to control them would be using the Arduino with 24V relays and an external 24v power supply. However, when looking at solenoids most of the signal coils require 16+ volts to activate. Can the output of the Arduino be boosted to use these? Is there a better way, or should I shelf these solenoids and buy different ones?

My next problem is controlling two worm geared motors, again 24v. I need to be able to control these in both directions and have been reading about using H-Bridges to reverse polarity. My question is, will this work with 24v? Will I need any other parts to control these motors? I also read mention of using a heat sink.. but these motors will only power on for a few sec at a time, hours apart.

What would be the best way to control these with an UNO board, or should I look into another controller?

thunter7891:
What would be the best way to control these with an UNO board, or should I look into another controller?

The UNO can do it, it just needs some intermediary circuitry to handle voltages over 5VDC. It's busy but this drawing shows what can be done.

You can use a relay driver board or You can use a proto board and add 3 logical MOSFETs that will switch Your 24 volt solenoids. Remember the free wheel diodes for the solenoids.

... and the most common driver option for bidirectional DC motors is an h-bridge.

No need for H bridge handling solenoids. Use MOSFETs and do some soldering or buy a relay driver shield.

Thanks for all the responses.