Control 3 Servo motors using external power supply(Not battery)

Hi everyone,
I am new to arduino as well as the electrical field but I am really excited in getting know more. My project requires me to control 3 servo motors(model: FP-S148) using arduino uno. I get to know that 3 servo motors will draw too much current and will be harmful to the UNO board if I power them from it (or not even possible to power 3 of them).

So far I could control 1 servo motor powered by either UNO board or a battery. However for 3 motors, I guess one normal battery is not sufficient and I do not want to use 3 batteries for 3 motors. I have a DC power supply(model: HP E3616A) and would like to use it to power all 3 motors. I have no idea how? Is a motor driver missing?(not familiar with motor driver at all)
I tried to power 1 servo using this DC supply and it could not work(red and black pins to DC supply, signal pin to UNO board, the board and DC supply have common ground). It is strange to me because I can power servo using UNO board or battery but not this DC supply. I guess I must have missed out something and I would like to ask you guys for suggestions and advice.

Thanks so much!

Yes you are missing something, perhaps it is your understanding of what a common ground is. It is a wire between the negitave of your power sipupply and the GND connection of your arduino.

Thanks a lot Mike for your reply. I think I connect it accordingly, or maybe my understanding is still wrong. I have attached the photos to show my circuitry. [This particular problem has been solved]

As shown in the photos, the connection between the joystick shield and UNO board can be ignored since they are not relevant here.
I connect the positive end of the battery to the red pin of the servo; both the negative end of the battery and the black pin of servo connect to the breadboard of the same row; connect the ground of UNO to the breadboard of the same row as the former. This configuration works!