Control 3 stepper motors and trigger camera with arduino?

Hello!

I want to control 3 Nema stepper motors for x steps and then trigger a camera (2.5mm male cord). I’m pretty sure this is easy to do with Arduino but I have no experience with it and not sure what to buy. I know basic programming and that part seems kinda easy but I dislike soldering and want most of the parts to be plug-n-play.

What do I need?
3x Nema 17 (or 23) stepper motor
Genuino Uno or Mega?
Adafruit Motor / Stepper / Servo Shield - v2.3? - Do I need 1 or 2 of these? The adafruit link says something about multiple shields not working with due wire, what is that?
Some kind of power source? Any special genuino parts for that?
I have a 2.5mm male cable, do I need a shield for the camera trigger function?
Something more?

/Larso

I'm pretty sure this is easy to do with Arduino

It is.

What do I need?

An Arduino, some stepper motors, some stepper motor drivers, a camera, and some code.

Adafruit Motor / Stepper / Servo Shield - v2.3? - Do I need 1 or 2 of these?

None. Get real stepper motor drivers, like https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12779

The adafruit link says something about multiple shields not working with due wire, what is that?

Probably your misunderstanding of something on the mysterious site.

Some kind of power source?

That would be a good idea.

Any special genuino parts for that?

No.

I have a 2.5mm male cable

For what?

do I need a shield for the camera trigger function?

No.

Something more?

Some clue as to which camera, how to trigger it, some idea what the steppers are supposed to do, ...

3axis timelpase rig?

Anyway. You want some drivers. I use Pololu a4988 Stepper Drivers to power some NEMA 17s. These drivers are good up to 2A I think…“additional cooling” is some 1cm heatsinks and a small 5V fan. I do not run them at 2A mind, as they do not need the torque.