Control 4x Nema 23, 24v 3A steppers

Hi, Im building a large aluminium saw cut line, at the moment im planning on using 4x linear rails driven by nema 23 motors. (24v 3A)

Nema 23 - Linear rail

And 4x TB6560 3A motor drivers.

TB6560 Motor driver

This is my first time controlling multiple steppers and I wonder if there's anyone with experience of Nema 23's and TB6560s?

The workflow is like this:

Init:

• All steppers will reverse until they hit their limit switches and find their home position. One at the time.

Program:

• An aluminium profile will be locked sideways with an aircylider mounted on rail 1, (24v relay + air solenoid)
  • Rail 1 goes 300mm forward to its position
  • Rail 2 is mounted vertically with a drill, - drills a hole into the profile
  • Rail 1 moves 200 mm forward
  • 3x air cylenders will go down from the top and lock the profile on three places while cutting
  • Rail 3 holds / directs a cutting saw motor and moving it forward, then backward.
  • Rail 4 holds another cutting saw motor and moving it forward, then backward (two angle cut)
  • The cycle repeats

Thats the workflow pretty roughly. Since the program is pretty simple i thought id just program the steppers using digital high / low signal with delay between and no external library. Is that good or bad? What would you recommend?

If this works i might extend the line even further.

Is this duable using the equipment i described above? Any input is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
// H

For 3 amp motors I would use a stepper driver that can handle 4amps or 5 amps.

I have no experience of stepper driver boards with TB6560s but there have been some reports of poor quality control on the boards - not what you want with a dangerous saw. If you are going to use them I suggest you get them from a reputable supplier.