Control a 12V 14A electrical actuator

Hello everyone,
I would like to control an electrical actuator (12V, 14A max) in PMW with an Arduino Uno (here is the link to the actuator). The final goal is to make a servo-control between the position of the actuator and another sensor.

Could you please help me to size the electronics, including a H bridge ? I have no problems with the programming side but I'm quite new with electronics and affraid of making a mistake :slight_smile:

I was thinking about using MOSFETs (I have some IRLZ44NPBF for instance), as it will limit the voltage drops, already includes a diode and have a really fast commutation for PWM.

For a servo you need position feedback from the actuator. Better choose an actuator with feedback.

The electric power side is easy: you need a power supply and H-bridge module of sufficient current and voltage.

Thank you. I'm going to use an external sensor for feedback, I would like to stay with this motor (even if I agree with you).

Where can I find the H-bridge module for this current values? I thought about designing it but if I can find it already made, it would certainly be easier.

Come back if you have a more precise idea of such a sensor and how to mount it to the actuator. Until then I strictly suggest to use an actuator with feedback.

Google is your friend. Eventually add "Arduino" for best information about connection and sample code for your Arduino.

You could use need something like this H bridge.

There are plenty of other versions of this driver.

While you could design on yourself I think it might be wiser for you to purchase of follow a proven design. Drivers and driving components take some understanding to pick from a catalog.

Thanks for your help, I was looking at a similar controller and it supports my choice !

Just to know, is it necessary to foresee a little more compared to the announced max current for the starting of the motor or something else?