Control a DC motor such that it outputs a constant torque

Hello,

I am new to arduino and I want to do a little project where I rotate a paddle in air and water at constant torque (so it goes faster in the air, then slow down when entering the water,...). Is there any tutorial showing how to control the DC such that the current is constant?

Thanks

Rem

You need something to measure the current. What is the range of currents involved?

However the difference in resistance between water and air is so great that this seems rather pointless. Just adjust things so the motor runs at the required speed in water and then it will inevitably run faster (probably at maximum speed) when it is not in water. I can't see how measuring and controlling the current would give different behaviour.

...R

Thanks robin.

I am just looking for a tutorial for constant current. I am aware of the air part. I was actually planning on controlling the angular velocity in the air. What is important to me is that the torque is constant in the water phase. For the current values, I will vary the values. I currently use a DC motor + gear box similar to the one in this tutorial :

Maybe you can help me out. I have found plenty of tutorial on how to control a DC motor with a H-bridge (like the link above). And in the code you have something like

int Power = 0 to 255;
analogWrite(MotorForward1,Power);

Not sure what the power means here? Is it actually a constant power target? a constant velocity? or a constant torque?
Here since the load does not vary, they all end up constant, but I would like to control the torque.

Thanks

Rem

Not sure what the power means here?

"Power" is the fraction of the time (of 255 max) that the output "MotorForward1" pin is HIGH, which depending on the wiring and motor driver, probably translates to higher average voltage applied to the motor.