Control arduino via a Window/DirectX application?

Hi,

I am new to electronics and microcontrollers, but I have been programming since the Commodore 64 was state of the art. :)

So now I wish to make a robot that is controlled directly (via USB) from a Windows/DirectX (Win/DX) application on my PC.

I was planning to base it on Phidgets, but after doing LOTS of research I have fallen inlove with the Arduino concept, being open source and all.

But Phidget provides an API for a wide selection of languages (including C# and C++) for directly controlling servos and reading sensor inputs from a PC, thus making it easy to integrate into a Win/DX application.

It is my understanding that the Arduino programming environment "only" generates the software that runs on the microcontroller (Atmega). Is this correct?

If so then how do I create a Win/DX application that controls the Arduino and receives sensor input from it? Is there API for this? Or..?

I have many other questions but I'll start with these and take it from there...

Oh...and here is simple notepad based model of my robot: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?j5dy24mnidy

Wow! Read 66 times but no replies..

I guess it's my own fault for using such foul (=microsoft) language as Windows, DirectX and C# on an open source forum :)

Well I'm no fan of MS either, but I'm comfortable programming/protyping in C# and there is a really cool FREE and OPEN SOURCE AI-API for C# called Aforge.NET which I'd love to use for my project. It contains libraries for Neural Nets, Genetic programming, Fuzzy logic and more. Check it out if you're into AI.

Anyhoo I think I found the solution while researching on the Processing environment that Arduino is based on here:

everybody.is-a-cyb.org/project/21