Control film scanner using Arduino plug-in tool and DigiCam Control

I am a novice to Arduino, but I believe it may be the answer to my problem. I would very much appreciate any advice

I have old film/motion picture scanner that is operated by a PLC (control panel) with an rs232 serial port for remote control via a PC.

The scanner was made by a company that went bust 20 years ago (Quantel)

I want to use the Arduino Serial function, a plug-in tool in DigiCam software: after taking a picture of a a celluloid film frame with a Nikon, I would like the software / plugin tool to shuttle the film forward so that the Nikon can take a picture of the next frame, and so on. ..

An 2 eight line ribbons from a key pad goes into the PLC. One can press the key buttons to move the film back and forward.

Could I do this by purchasing an Arduino board that would send command signals to the scanner via the ribbon cable? In other words a sort of substitute keyboard that is automated.

Thank you for your time in considering my problem.

Best wishes

Do you have a datasheet for the RS232 commands?

If not, I don't see the point of doing this.

8176Patrick:
I want to use the Arduino Serial function, a plug-in tool in DigiCam software:

What do you mean by "a plug-in tool in DigiCam software"?

Is that a program that is running on your PC?

I can't figure out from your Original Post what role you envisage for the Arduino.

...R

The Digi Cam controls a program on the pc with a tolls section one is communicate with Arduino via serial port.

All I have regarding info on the scanner control panel plc is

Commands are transmitted serially on the pcb from the MAX233 chip to the L9822E driver chip.
The L9822E drives the transport , lamps, relays and solenoids via the 25 way D type on the
backplate - no serial data leaves the pcb

The solenoids / relays etc will (probably) have a common psu voltage rail and are operated via pull
downs from the L9822E panel driver.

25 way pcb: