Control FM/AM Radio Frequency with Arduino?

Hi,

I'm wondering about the feasibility and requesting some guidance in the pursuance of a project that will use Arduino to dictate the radio frequency of old boom boxes. I believe this shouldn't be too difficult but I'm a newbie with electronics and Arduino so I figured I'd ask first.

Basically, I'd like to bypass the potentiometer on the boom box and cycle through stations with the Arduino. I suspect it might just be a matter of replacing the potentiometers wires with those coming from Arduino, but any insight would be great. I'm using older boom boxes so they should all have analog tuners.

If you are confused, here's a video of someone doing exactly what I want to do, but with a digital tuner: http://vimeo.com/20932884

Does anyone have advice on how I would get started?

Thank you so much.

Best,

-LL

I think those potentiometers are actually variable capacitors....

Almost all boom-boxes use a variable capacitor connect to a knob. Your best bet might be to connect a hobby servo to the variable capacitor.

I'm not too well versed in the FM realm, but for AM, the demodulator circuits will typically use a parallel RC filter circuit in order to tune it. Most boomboxes will use a variable capacitor(as the other posters mentioned), however,you could swap out the resistor that it's connected to and change the frequency using the equation f=1/(RC), where f is the frequency that you're trying to tune to. Again, this is for AM, I'm not too sure how to do FM demodulation.

You can also purchase both digital potentiometers and digital variable capacitors, which would make interfacing with the Arduino much more simple.