Control of a small 12V DC motor

Hey, So I have never done anything like this before, so I am as new as possible. I have a lead screw, with a sleeve nut sliding up and down it. The screw is powered by a 12V DC motor. This is for retractable landing gear for a remote control airplane. So when the plane takes off, I need to retract the landing gear (by powering the lead screw) and then turn it off when the gear is retracted, and when landing I need to power the screw with reverse current, and similarly stop it when it is completely down. Somebody suggested using limit switches at either end a some sort of micro-controller. The problem is, I have no idea where to start for a micro-controller. So here is the question:

What controller would you suggest? Where can I find code to do such a thing? Any other info you think may be helpful would be seriously appreciated.

This probably isn't very helpful, but hasn't this problem been solved long ago for RC planes, before microcontrollers were so prevalent? I'd guess that there's a servo solution that avoids the need entirely to carry additional processing power. Of course, if you want a microcontroller on board your aircraft, the Arduino can certainly take care of this for you.

Indeed - the Mini Pro is the ultimate lightweight option (1.35gramme) - although a separate USB-serial adapter is needed to program it. The Arduino Nano might be sufficient however and has USB built-in so much more convenient.

As for the motor you need an H-bridge to drive it, there are many available but make sure its good for the motor involved. Some sort of microswitches could serve as end-stop detection. And you'll need an interface to control it from the RC receiver. Arduino has pulseIn function that can be used to measure servo-style inputs. Conceivably if the motor isn't too powerful to damage the mechanism you could use current sensing to detect end-stops.