Control RC transmitter switch with Arduino?

Hi Im new to Arduino. Im trying to hook up an Arduino to a RC transmitter to control an RC blimp motor. The RC controls are digital basically on or off, when you press the button you basically close the circuit. I am not sure if this can be controlled through the arduino. I know some people use solenoids to do that to physically press the switch. But since there are 6 buttons it would be too many solenoids, in addition from what i understand solenoids nees special wiring so they dont damage the arduino and they can overheat and get damaged. Any feedback would be incredible. Thanks for any help/ideas.

:)

You can probably use a 4066 or quad analog switch to do this.

This IC has 4 pins that work as control pins, and 4 pairs of pins that work as switches. When you apply 5 volt to a controlpin the corresponding switch pin pair closes like a switch.

You would need two of these IC's to control 6 switches (well 1½ really :-) ).

You would connect 6 digital pinns on the Arduini to 6 of the control pins on the two 4066 IC's, and the 6 switch pin pairs to the each side of the 6 switchws in the RC transmitter.

For a more detailed example check this page on my web site: http://mikmo.dk/cbinterfacedetails.html I shows how to switch stuff with the parallel port on a PC, but the principle is the same using Arduino.

MikMo http://www.mikmo.dk

EDIT: Its important to remember that the voltage you switch with the switchpin pairs on the 4066 can not exceed the supply voltage to the 4066 IC, or it will fry.

Thanks so much for the reply ;D

I will try this immediately - well as soon as i can get the 4066. Im not sure about the last comment about frying the IC. The transmitter is powered by a 9V battery thats basically all I know. Would that be ok?

also do you have any recommendations on where to get the 4066. ?

Thanks a ton.

You might want to look at using opto-couplers also...

--Phil.