Control switch manually and via Ard.

Total newbie here to both electronics and Ardy, so any search keywords will help a lot.

On a basic level how can I have a on/off switch with a built-in LED be controlled manually via the switch and electronically via Ard, in the sense that if I hit the switch on I can turn it off via Arduino, and vise-versa.

While the switch is on there is the LED circuit that picks up the state and powers the LED on the button.

OR

Is it just easier to have a momentary switch that when pressed Arduino could pick up the HIGH/LOW state, so that it changes the LED on/off and the actual switch applications (when a state has been changed, check the current value and switch it to the opposite)?

In the case of the second, I'll need to re-think the switch design that suits as they're only available in 6v or 12v, unless there is an easier way than having a control solid state relay just for a LED.

These buttons will control via a hardware software layer, that then controls solid state relays and finally the application. e.g Button press -> Ardunio pickup -> Software change -> Breakout board change -> SSR -> Device on/off

Thanks in advance for any help.

I am not totally sure what your situation is. You have a switch with an LED inside? Obviously, you cannot control the switch itself with Arduino (if you don’t attach a motor or something). Usually the LED is hard-wired to the switch state, so you also cannot control that. Is that the case for you, or can you control the LED independently from the switch.

Here is basically what you can do:

• Use a momentary switch that is connected to the Arduino, and the Arduino does all the actual switching, based on either the input from the switch or other sources.
  • Use a toggle switch that is connected to the Arduino, and the Arduino does all the actual switching, based on either the input from the switch or other sources.