Controling motor with potentiometer and buttom

Hi all

This is my first post here, im a newbie In programming, and im stuck In this code, and i hope that one of you experienced programmers Can help me out:)

The board is an Uno, and i will like to activate dc motor with a potentiometer and when the output value from potentiometer is 0, i will like to activate the dc motor with the pushbuttom.
Right now the dc motor is getting activated by the buttom but it’s only buzzing, not turning.

I hope the code is uploaded correctly:)

</>
const int switchPin = 2;
const int motorPin = 9;

const int potPin = A0; // test analog pin potentiometer

int switchState = 0;

int sensorValue = 0; // test sensor value pot
int outputValue = 0; // test analog output to the PWM

void setup() {
pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(switchPin, INPUT);

Serial.begin(9600); // test initialize serial com at 9600

}

void loop() {
sensorValue = analogRead(potPin); // test read analog in value
outputValue = map(sensorValue, 0, 1023, 0, 255); // test range of analog output
analogWrite(motorPin, outputValue); // test changing output value motorspeed

// test print result to serial monitor
Serial.print(“sensor=”);
Serial.print(sensorValue);
Serial.print("\t output");
Serial.println(outputValue);

delay(2);

switchState = digitalRead(switchPin);

if (switchState == HIGH) {
digitalWrite(motorPin, HIGH);
}

else {
digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
}

}
</>

We can not see how you have things wired together, nor can we see how you are powering your project. They are just as important, if not more important than looking at the code you wrote. Please include a schematic of what you have and all the wiring and power connections.
Paul

Your pot input and switch are fighting each other for control of the motor. The pot gets to set the motor speed for about 2 milliseconds before the switch tells the motor FULL SPEED! or STOP!. Then the pot gets a little more time.