Controller for a curing fridge - PID for DO's

Hey guys,

I am playing around with my UNO - complete newbie, but i have not slept for the last few days with excitement of my new found hobby (was the curing fridge, but now it is more the project!).

I have the project working - DHT22 mounted and calibrated, getting values, put in a simple start logic for dead bands and it is all working. dehumid, humid, turn on the fridge and heating lamp.

So far so good.

Then as it always happens, i want to improve the project - So i started to look into the PID controllers.

But i can not find any way to control DO's with the PID controller libs - Any tips really appreciated.

Pulse width modulation.

Bang-bang control.

Barrel shifter.

So i guess i am trying to find a way to pulse my bang-bang controller in the right intervals.

Google has plenty off examples covering theory and practice of using PID with a digital output . For a fridge the lags involved ( time before the temperature starts to drop when powered on ) may make PID control difficult and on /off may still give the best result . Do have a play tho - might be worth experimenting with say heating up a resistor and something to measure temperature .

Library

I see from your deleted posts that we're specifically discussing the fridge compressor. Mentioning that is useful given the fact that you referred to several potential things in your original post.

Pulse width modulation is a good choice. For a compressor the pulse width might be something measured in minutes (e.g. 15 minutes) or hours. 100% would mean "run for 15 minutes". 50% would mean "run for 7.5 minutes". With a compressor you would also need to include a minimum run time and a minimum quiet time.

Handling the process variable is where the magic happens. I suspect a simple average covering twice the pulse width would be a good starting point.