controlling 2 bipolar steppers

Hallo everybody,

I hope you can help me. I want to control 2 bipolar steppers. My question is, do I have to use 1 Arduino Uno in combination with 2 Arduino Motor Shield boards?

Thanks a lot.

Niklas

Which stepper motors do you want to drive? Many modern bipolar steppers have low-resistance windings intended for use with chopper-type drivers, and the Arduino motor shield is not suitable for them.

I plan to run 4 stepper motors controlled by 4 Pololu a4988 driver boards from a Uno. I've tested it with 2, I just haven't had a chance to connect the others yet - got distracted by another project.

...R

To the original poster: Which motor shield? There are a few out there, not all different.

Hi, I’m very new to all this but this is what i have found so far. Remember its all about tinkering!! 8) i salvaged half a dozen different stepper motors from old printers and scanners, all require different voltages and currents and steps. first, I put a cable tie (cut to about an inch long) around the motor output shaft gear to use as a pointer, make a pencil to line up under the cable tie, then, carefully rotate the shaft by hand and count the number of steps that you feel until the pointer lines up with the mark again. Do that a couple more times just to make sure you didn’t miss any. Now you know how many steps per rev each motor has (full steps)
If you now load a sketch that will run the motor WITH THE SHIELD, use a current limited power supply set to around 200ma. for initial saftey, or just the usb supply. Connect your motor and it should run. If you follow the instructions on the arduino motor shield page, you can cut the supply from the motor and use a separate power supply just for the motor. I monitor the current into the motor and adjust the voltage to keep it below 1.5amps.