Controlling 4 or 5 servo motors using a push button

Hi,

This is my first post and i am new to electronics and i just started learning arduino.

I am working on a project in which i am trying to control 5 servo motors with a single push button. Is it possible to do that. If yes pls help me with the coding....... When the button is pressed the servo motors should rotate and upon the the release it should go back to original position.

Can any one help...?

Thanks in advance

Sisir

Servo library, 5 instances, should be fine. Make sure your servo power supply is up to the job.

Basic servo momentary button code. Add more servos as desired.

//zoomkat servo button test 7-30-2011

#include <Servo.h>
int button1 = 4; //button pin, connect to ground to move servo
int press1 = 0;
Servo servo1;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(button1, INPUT);
  servo1.attach(7);
  digitalWrite(4, HIGH); //enable pullups to make pin high
}

void loop()
{
  press1 = digitalRead(button1);
  if (press1 == LOW)
  {
    servo1.write(160);
  }
  else {
    servo1.write(20);
  }
}

Thanks to MarkT and zoomkat

i tried to control 2 servos with my arduino it worked fine but if i try to control 5 servos with my arduino, it didnt work. i want to power up the servos externally but i dont know how to do it. im using 5 push buttons and a pot knob to control the servos. And what battery should i use. and how to connect it with servo and arduino.

the servo spec is..

Operating Voltage : 4.8-6.0V

PWM Input Range : Pulse Cycle 20±2ms, Positive Pulse 1~2ms

STD Direction : Counter Clockwise / Pulse Traveling 1500 to 1900µsec

Stall Torque : 3 Kgf.cm(41.3 oz/in) at 4.8V, 3.2 Kgf.cm(44 oz/in) at 6V

Operating Speed : 0.2 sec/ 60° at 4.8V, 0.18 sec/ 60° at 6V at no load

Weight : 38g (1.27 oz)

Size : 41.3*20.3*38.7*48.5*10

Plug Available : FUT, JR

Special Feature : Heavy Duty Plastic Gears, Economy Servo

what battery should i use to control 5 servos of above spec.